After playing extensively with both iAnnotate PDF and PDF Expert, I can firmly say that iAnnotate is vastly superior. I have not found anything that PDF Expert can do that iAnnotate can’t, and iAnnotate has a lot more options for how to mark up a text. Combined with a Dropbox account, this is a VERY useful app.

At the risk of sounding hyperbolic, this app has made me a better grader of student papers. I’m using a more visually accessible style of commenting, my comments are becoming more targeted and refined, and the simple fact that it is so easy to pull up prior versions of papers means that my comments on rewrites have become much more precisely tailored to the specific issues each student seems to be struggling with.

I wouldn’t go so far as to say that it’s made me enjoy grading papers, but it has made me feel like I’m doing a better job while I grade them.

